Rainy Days and Books

In the U.K. recently it has been raining heavily on and off for about a week. For some people it’s horrible, you may want to relax in the sun and get a tan because it is summer. However for me, I love it. The rain makes me feel so cosy and happy. I love being inside all snuggled up under a warm blanket reading a book while outside the clouds are projectile vomiting. That was very graphic, sorry. The other night there was thunder and lightning and the rain was so heavy. Me, being the idiot i am, left my bedroom window open a crack. One hour later the wind had blown it all the way open and half of my room was covered in rain. I had to leave my books to dry overnight because they were completely soaked. 

Speaking of books, over the past few days i’ve read two new books that I absolutely loved. First was Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. Some people may think this book is depressing, but really it’s not. While some chapters are upsetting, it’s a really good book that teaches you to be aware of those that may be depressed and considering ending their lives. It shows you that you can help them and you can make a difference while also having some pages that are humerous or about love. 

The next book is Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon. When writing this post I literally finished the book about half an hour ago. It was the first book to make me cry. It’s about love and the risks you will take for it. It also shows the importance of family. It is about a teenager called Madeline Whittier who lives with her mother. She has never left her house because she has SCID, a disease which means she is basically allergic to the world. Olly moves in across the road from her and they start emailing and texting. They then fall in love. The book is amazing and the first book that I cried at. It’s seriously beautiful and I couldn’t put it down. It has to be one of my favourite books. 

I hope you enjoyed this little update blog post. Thank you for reading,

Jessica x

Leave a Reply

